Finally: The Soup and Bread Cookbook FAQ

1. When is the cookbook coming out?

Mark your calendars for the Soup and Bread Cookbook Release Party, Wednesday December 9, from 5 to 8 PM, at the Hideout, 1354 W. Wabansia. There will be NO SOUP at the party, but we’ll be filling the crock pots up with hot spiked cider to keep you warm. Cookbooks will be available for purchase at $20 a pop — as will silkscreened prints of some of Paul Dolan’s fantastic illustrations (see pumpkin, above, and tomatoes and carrots below). Prints are 6 x 8 inches, hand-screened in editions of 50 by Alana Bailey.

2. Can you tell me more about this here cookbook?

Certainly. It’s 126 pages long, and 5 x 7 inches in size, with spiral binding and a beautiful letterpress cover printed by our friends at Rohner Letterpress. It’s designed by Sheila Sachs, with two-color illustrations by Paul Dolan. Inside are 52 delicious soup recipes and another 8 ideas for breads, rolls, and miscellaneous baked goods. All recipes come from the 2009 run of Soup and Bread at the Hideout. A portion of the proceeds from sales of the cookbook and the prints will be donated to the Greater Chicago Food Depository.

3. What if I can’t come to the party?

Cookbooks and prints will also be available at the Hideout Holiday Sale, taking place from 6 to 9 PM on Tuesday, December 15, and Tuesday, December 22, at (surprise!) the Hideout.

4. What if I can’t come anywhere near the Hideout?

We are hoping to have books available on consignment at a few select locations around town. Details still being worked out on this, but some likely candidates include Renegade Handmade, Quimby’s, Swim Cafe, and Green Grocer Chicago. (Yes I know, those are all in West Town. Like I said … workin’ on it!) Stay tuned for more on this.

5. What if I can’t come anywhere near Chicago?

Books are also available via that attractive PayPal button to your right. Please note that we’ve had to tack on an additional $2 for shipping.

EDITED TO ADD: If no PayPal button is visible to the right, that’s probably because you’ve come to this page via a permalink to this particular post. Please click on the blog header to go to the home page, where there will be technology available to sell you books.

6. I donated $50 or more to the Kickstarter campaign and/or I have a recipe in the book. How do I get my copy of the book?

Cookbook contributors and Kickstarter donors can pick up their complimentary copies (and receive further effusive thanks) at the party on the 9th or on the 15th and 22nd during the Holiday Sale. If you can’t make it please let me know at soupnbread10 [at] gmail [dot] com and we’ll work something out.

7. I am not sure but I think you owe me a book. How do I find out?

Ask! Send me a note at soupnbread10 [at] gmail [dot] com. I have kept a list, miraculously enough.

8. Last, but certainly not least, how do I get to make soup in 2010?

That’s terrific! We’ll have a sign-up sheet available at the party and at the sale, or just shoot me a line at the gmail address above.

Thanks everybody — hope to see you on the 9th.

Tags: ,

2 Responses to “Finally: The Soup and Bread Cookbook FAQ”

  1. jack smeltzer Says:

    I live in Albuquerque, New Mexico. I think this would be great project for our city. Very interested in this program please keep me posted.

    Made an earlier post but forgot to check the notify boxes below. Please acknowledge.

  2. Martha Says:

    Got it — thanks Jack! We will definitely keep you posted. And if you are interested in starting up a Soup and Bread program yourself, lets talk.

Leave a comment